Taste of my Third book part 3

Hi,
          I am trying to create some buzz over my upcoming third book (my first novel), so I am releasing short excerpts, about one every two weeks or so, until it is published.
          This is the third excerpt I have sent and the previous two displayed a little of the sports action and romance that flows throughout the book, the following is more along the lines of science fiction.  The title of the book is Gabriella and Dr. Duggan’s Secret Dimensional Transport Machine and the below is Gabriella’s first trip in the machine.  Enjoy.

          Two crewmembers help me onto the chair and it shocks me how rickety it feels, as if it could topple over if I lean a little to the side.  They called it the ‘transport chair module’ but it looks like a chair sitting on a flimsy piece of plywood and I suddenly wonder what was I thinking.
          It’s too late now.
          I buckle my seatbelt and brace my hands on the metal side rails of the chair as the green grid pattern appears.  The crewmembers and Dr. Duggan take their seats and strap themselves down.
          “Hey!  Why do you need to be strapped in?”
          “You’ll see!” Dr. Duggan hollers out over the loud hum.
          Then, suddenly, one of the crew smashes a big blue button and it is as if a black hole opens in the middle of the ring, trying to suck everything in the room into it.  Everyone braces themselves as if they do not trust their seat-belts, papers flying all over the room, long hair pulled forward, the transport chair accelerating, being sucked into the ring, unnaturally fast, squeezing my body back, smashing the small chair cushion flat, my back crushing against the hard metal braces in the back of the chair, breath squeezing from my lungs, sound bending all around me like a rapidly moving train producing a Doppler effect, my knuckles turning bright white as I squeeze down hard on the railing, instantly traveling ridiculously fast.  As I cross the ring and the plane of the green grid my body feels like it is being ripped in two and a high-pitched ringing sound pierces my mind, simultaneously in two places at the same time, on earth and in the Void.  An incredible bright, blinding white light envelopes me and I can’t squeeze my eyes down tight fast enough.  I try to tuck my head into my shoulder to block it out.

          Then, suddenly, it’s over.

          I am open and very interested in suggestions or comments, either through email reply or on the blog page.

My second book is A Prayer Warrior’s Guide: How to Pray for People for Divine Healing and here are the kindle and nook links.

My first book is The Indwelling: An Introduction to a New Relationship With God and here are the kindle and nook links.

This entry was posted in Gabriella and Dr.Duggan's Secret Dimensional Transport Machine. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Taste of my Third book part 3

  1. keith j says:

    Soundl like fun.

Leave a comment