When writing feels like work

August 19, 2014

I oh so love writing. I love the creative process; I love spinning the ideas around in my head then putting them down in print. I absolutely love the aha moment when an idea pops into my head, as I’m writing, that feels spontaneous and organic, almost as if one of my characters is somehow communicating to me metaphysically, telling me what he or she wants to do next. I love it.

But then there most necessarily comes the pages and pages of filler detail that needs to be fleshed out in order to keep the flow and logic of the novel moving. I try to make it fun, really I do, trying to fill it with character thoughts, contemplations and motivations but I can’t help day dreaming about my next book while I tap out the words.

That’s where I’ve been finding myself more and more often recently. Just finishing off chapter 30 of Gabriella and the Curse of the Black Spot, the second book in the NuGen series.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s been an adventure but I can’t wait for it to be done. About four or five more chapters to go.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment